PAX 2012: Overview

PAX was two weeks ago. It took me that long to recover from my favorite convention of the year and collect my thoughts. (Ok, that actually took a week, and the second week I was just lazy.)  It might also have something to do with the geeky beer tour I went on the day after PAX (which I will be posting about shortly).

In any case, there was a lot to take in, and I only feel confident in my recall and knowledge to write about a fraction of it. Here’s what I’ll be posting about:

  1. Cards Against Humanity: What can I say, their PAX marketing campaign made an impression. I also really like that game.
  2. Pretty pictures of cosplayers: I can’t claim to have made a comprehensive survey of what was there (or even of what I saw) but I caught some good ones.
  3. A few of the games that I got a chance to play at PAX
  4. A few of the panels that I got a chance to catch at PAX

And here’s what I won’t be writing much about:

  1. Triple A Games and the Expo Room floor: I caught a few things here, but it wasn’t what I was at PAX to see.
  2. Most of the panels: This makes me sad. There was so much to see and do and I could only catch part of it.
  3. Most of the video/card/board games: Again, sadness. There was so much to do and so little time.

I also want to say a few words about what I love most about PAX: the feeling of community. Even as an extrovert, I have never felt so at home in a massive crowd of mostly strangers as I have at PAX. Uh, that is to say, I felt very at home and comfortable in PAX’s massive crowd of geeky (mostly) strangers.

I would have thought that I would need to be way more into gaming to feel that way, but I think the geeky Venn diagram that is PAX Prime is so extensive that I have at least a little in common with almost everyone there. From watching Penny Arcade: The Series, I also know that Mike Krahulik and Jerry Holkins of Penny Arcade are really dedicated to  cultivating a community of gamers and nerds.  I deeply appreciate the effort.  Living in that community of 60,000 nerds for a few days was really, really nice, and it’s what makes me wish that it could be PAX all year round.

Leave a Reply

